Gil Scott-Heron - Spirits 2LP NEW RED VINYL

Write a Review
Add to Cart






Release Date,


Release Date:


Gil Scott-Heron - Spirits 2LP


TVT Records

Double vinyl LP pressing. From his first well-known album Pieces of a Man (1971, including the iconic "The Revolution Will Not Be Televised") to his final album I'm New Here (2010), singer-poet Gil Scott-Heron released more than 20 albums and hundreds of compelling compositions that addressed profound social issues as well as the love, happiness and pain of the human condition - with turns of phrases, humor and a depth of understanding solely his own. Fittingly, because he believed so deeply in humankind's connection to "spirit," he titled his first album in more than a decade, Spirits in 1994. Noting that his life and music were gifts from the "spirits," Gil saw these songs and poems as "spirituals." Offering up poignant social commentary, jazz-funk leanings and an update of 1974's "The Bottle," the long out of print album is reissued here on vinyl 2LP in honor of it's 25th anniversary.

Disc 1
1 Message To The Messengers
2 Spirits
3 Give Her A Call
4 Lady’s Song
5 Spirits Past

Disc 2
1 The Other Side, Part I
2 The Other Side, Part II
3 The Other Side, Part III
4 Work For Peace
5 Don’t Give Up

Customers Also Viewed