Shane MacGowan & the Popes - The Snake LP NEW

Write a Review
Add to Cart






Shane MacGowan & the Popes - The Snake LP


Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. The Snake is the first solo album by Shane MacGowan with backing band The Popes. Originally released in 1994, the album is a bracing set of songs that draw heavily on traditional Irish folk music while pinning your ears back with a raucous, full-frontal rock sound. Guests on the album include Johnny Depp, members of The Dubliners, Thin Lizzy, and The Pogues. Like a number of songs recorded by MacGowan's previous band, The Pogues, traditional tunes are sometimes used as a base for a new song. For example, the melody for "The Song With No Name" is based on "The Homes of Donegal".

1 The Church of the Holy Spook
2 That Woman's Got Me Drinking
3 The Song with No Name
4 Aisling
5 I'll Be Your Handbag
6 Her Father Didn't Like Me Anyway
7 A Mexican Funeral in Paris
8 The Snake with Eyes of Garnet
9 Donegal Express
10 Victoria
11 The Rising of the Moon
12 Bring Down the Lamp

Music on Vinyl reissue

Customers Also Viewed