Skip to content
Regular price $19.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

In stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Chris Thile - Laysongs LP


Nonesuch Records

Vinyl LP pressing. 2021 release. The album is his first truly solo album: just Thile, his voice, and his mandolin, on new recordings of six original songs and three covers, all of which contextualize and banter with his ideas about spirituality. Recorded in a converted upstate New York church during the pandemic, Laysongs' centerpiece is the three-part "Salt (in the Wounds) of the Earth," which was inspired by C.S. Lewis's The Screwtape Letters. The album also features a song Thile wrote about Dionysus; a performance of the fourth movement of Béla Bartók's Sonata for Solo Violin; "God Is Alive, Magic Is Afoot" based on Buffy Sainte-Marie's adaptation of a Leonard Cohen poem; a cover of bluegrass legend Hazel Dickens' "Won't You Come and Sing for Me;" and an original instrumental loosely modeled after the Prelude from J.S. Bach's Partita for Solo Violin in E Major.

- Side 1 -
1 Laysong
2 Ecclesiastes
3 God Is Alive Magic Is Afoot
4 Salt (In the Wounds) of the Earth, Pt. 1
5 Salt (In the Wounds) of the Earth, Pt. 2
- Side 2 -
1 Salt (In the Wounds) of the Earth, Pt. 3
2 Sonata for Solo Violin, SZ. 117: IV. Presto
3 Dionysus
4 Won't You Come and Sing for Me

Shopping Cart