Skip to content
Regular price $21.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Cisco Swank - Some Things Take Time LP


Sooper Records

Some Things Take Time is an album for the Beat Junkies and the Hip-Hop Headz, the Sample Lords, Crate Diggers, and Arm-Chair Rap Historians. And the Jazz snobs... perhaps them most of all. A chance introduction led NYC's Cisco Swank and Chicago's Luke Titus into a collaboration where each brought their sophisticated multi-instrumentalist production chops to bear upon something fresh and exciting at the crossroads of Jazz and Hip-Hop. The resulting album is one-part beat tape, one-part Blue Note jazz session. A series of evolving vignettes with their constituent parts transported seamlessly from both the traditionalist past and the unwritten future. Eleven tracks glued together by caffeinated off-kilter beats, holy chord progressions, dusty bebop motifs, and a palette of revealed sonic flourishes... sometimes acting in service to the occasional vocal performance by Swank or Titus. The album also includes features by some of the freshest talents operating in the overlapping worlds where this project exists: jazz, R&B, and rap. A 24-minute whirlwind sweeps the listener through full-track vocal features by rappers Saba and Femdot, guest production and vocals by Phoelix, vocals by NYC singer-song-writer Malaya, and a pair of cosmic anchor performances from NYC saxophonist Braxton Cook (who FADER called a "jazz prodigy"). It's like On The Corner meets J Dilla's Donuts. Francisco Haye (a/k/a "Cisco Swank") is a 21-year-old multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, and producer from Brooklyn, NY quickly becoming a staple in his City's R&B, jazz, and hip-hop communities. Cisco has worked with the acts including Brasstracks, Maurice Brown, Kenneth Whalum, Malaya, Julius Rodriguez, and CARRTOONS. Oaky Player called Cisco Swank a "rising multi-hyphenate" in NYC. Luke Titus is a 24-year-old multi-instrumentalist, vocalist, and producer from Chicago, and currently based in LA. The youngest ever musician in the Blue Man Group (drums), Luke has produced for Noname (Room 25), Ravyn Lenae, KAINA, SMINO, SABA and many others. FADER called Titus a "brilliant" drummer and producer.

1 Intro
2 Nothing's Changed
3 Joint 5
4 Joint 3
5 Some Things Take Time
6 Joint 10
7 Could It Be You
8 If We Try
9 Joint 7
10 Joint 4
11 Outro