Skip to content
Regular price $29.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Dana Gillespie - Weren't Born A Man LP


Recent reissue.

Vinilisssimo Records

Vinilisssimo present a reissue of Dana Gillespie's Weren't Born A Man, originally released in 1973. Hardcore David Bowie fans should have heard by now about the so-called Bowpromo album (2011). It contains "rough mixes" of original tracks that would later be included on the Hunky Dory (1971) and Ziggy Stardust (1972) albums, as well as an exclusive track and the early (and shorter) versions of some amazing songs that would later make their way into Dana Gillespie's Weren't Born A Man: "Mother, Don't Be Frightened" and "Andy Warhol". In fact, these two tracks on Dana's album were produced by Bowie and Mick Ronson, featuring Trevor Bolder and Mick Woodmansey, members of The Spiders from Mars, as the backing band. Weren't Born A Man is Gillespie's third album after some previous folk and pop recordings and a rather successful career as an actress. She played Mary Magdalene in the first London production of Jesus Christ Superstar in 1972. However, her involvement in music would soon be connected to some of the key players in the London scene, such as Mick Jagger, Jimmy Page and David Bowie. But there is much more to this album that just Bowie's glam sound influence. "All Cut Up On You", "All Gone", "Eternal Showman" or the title track are all outstanding tracks on their own that show Dana Gillespie's various moods, from mellow notes to sexually ambiguous statements. Sadly, record sales did not match RCA's expectations and after one more album, Dana was forced to take a long break on her recording activity, one that would eventually lead her to a very different approach to music. During the '80s, Gillespie made a comeback becoming a member of the Mojo Blues Band and her career as a blues singer has not stopped since then, releasing over 25 albums to date. 43 years after its original release, Weren't Born A Man stands as a must-have record for anyone with an interest in '70s music. 180 gram vinyl.

01 Stardom Road Parts I & II 07 :18
02 What Memories We Make 05 :17
03 Dizzy Heights 03 :35
04 Andy Warhol 03 :01
05 Backed A Loser 04 :50
06 Weren't Born A Man 04 :07
07 Mother, Don't Be Frightened 04 :15
08 All Cut Up On You 04 :24
09 Eternal Showman 03 :25
10 All Gone 05 :01