Skip to content
Regular price $21.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Illa J - Home LP


Jakarta Records

Following his self titled LP, Illa J sometimes known as "John Regal" is a singer, songwriter, rapper, producer, multi- instrumentalist. He takes us on a trip to his hometown Detroit with his third solo album Home. His last LP successfully took Illa J out of his brother and hiphop legend J Dilla's shadow to show he is in his own lane. Yet, Yancey still felt as though he was in a box labeled rapper. Teaming up with producer Calvin Valentine, who entirely produced the album, Home is Illa J's first album to properly showcase the full extent of his vocal range to put him in the singer-songwriter conversation. The listener can feel the soulfulness of this LP through Illa J's singing and Valentines' smooth production. On "Sam Cook" which is an ode to Illa J's father who ghostwrote for Motown, Yancey dives into his falsetto that is reminiscent of D'Angelo, Bilal and Al Green. While keeping his focus on singing. Illa J sprinkles the album with rap verses. On "7Mile" his vocals smoothly float over the more raw/alternative cut laid by Valentine. The album title track "Home" completes his album and solidifies Illa J's artistry as a well-rounded singer who can rap.

1 Turn It Up (feat. Dank)
2 Sam Cook
3 I Know
4 Photosynthesis
5 7 Mile
6 Snow Beach
7 Silencers (feat. Moka Only)
8 Detroit Bad Boys
9 Maureen
10 Home