Skip to content
Regular price $26.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Johnny Horton - Fantastic Johnny Horton LP


Recent reissue.

Bear Family Records

The original "Fantastic Johnny Horton" LP, released in 1959, didn't contain any of these recordings. Instead, it contained twelve early-mid 1950's Mercury recordings. But we have the truly fantastic Johnny Horton. Sixteen of his very best recordings from his years with Columbia Records. Here was the electricity, vibrancy, and presence that had barely been hinted at on Horton's earlier recordings. He worked with a very aggressive, prominently mixed rhythm section that included a string bass (Bill Black, sometimes!), a rhythm guitar, and Grady Martin on lead guitar.

1 Sal's Got a Sugarlip
2 Honky Tonk Hardwood Floor
3 Honky Tonk Man
4 I'm Coming Home
5 Honky Tonk Mind
6 Tell My Baby I Love Her
7 The First Train Headin' South
8 Lover's Rock
9 The Electrified Donkey
10 All Grown Up
11 Sugar Coated Baby
12 Let's Take the Long Way Home
13 Ole Slew Foot
14 Sleepy Eyed John
15 The Wild One
16 I'm Ready If You're Willing