Skip to content
Regular price $21.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Judee Sill - Self Titled LP


Recent reissue.

4 Men With Beards

Judee Sill's debut album (as well as the debut of the Asylum label) heralded a major new talent in the airy, contemporary folk world of the early '70s. The album employed the production skills of Sill's ex-husband Bob Harris, as well as ex-Turtle, ex-Leaves Jim Pons, and Graham Nash (on the album's sole single, 'Jesus Was's Crossmaker'). Judee Sill featured all original compositions, many of which relied on Sill's own brand of cosmological Christian imagery to make their point. By turns spare and lavishly orchestrated, there is still a cohesive feel to all of the album, her lyrics are exceptionally poetic and her voice is smooth enough to give every song a shimmery feel. The essence of the music is folk, the execution pop - the songs feel like a comfort blanket, a statement of hope from a troubled soul. 180 gram LP. 4 Men with Beards. 2004.

  1. Crayon Angels
  2. Phantom Cowboy
  3. Archetypal Man
  4. Lamb Ran Away with the Crown
  5. Lady-O
  6. Jesus Was a Cross Maker
  7. Ridge Rider
  8. My Man on Love
  9. Lopin' Around Thru the Cosmos
  10. Enchanted Sky Machines
  11. Abracadabra