Skip to content
Regular price $24.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

La Femme - Mystere 2LP


Born Bad Records

Mystère is the follow-up to La Femme's 2013 debut, and the pressure is on because Psycho Tropical Berlin was awarded a Victoire de la Musique for Album Révélation of the Year by the French Ministry of Culture. One gets the feeling that the collective's leaders, singer/keyboardist Marlon Magnée and guitarist Sacha Got, don't worry too much about expectations, though, as they deliver more of their free-spirited avant-indie-electronic mosaics. Like their debut, Mystère carries a sound that's at once retro and futuristic, or more precisely like contemporary music might have been imagined by creative souls some decades ago. Those devisers would likely have been French, because classic French pop is one of many elements at play here, along with EDM, '60s surf, synth pop, and psych-rock. "Le Vide Est Ton Nouveau Prénom," for example, is an acoustic-guitar chanson ornamented with sustained synths and occasional choral vocals and organ. Elsewhere, "Où Va le Monde" offers retro surf noir, "Al Warda" crafts orchestral dance fare, and "SSD" is a four-on-the-floor entry that straddles post-punk and techno, eventually morphing into disco. The album features rotating male and female lead vocalists, sometimes together, and plenty of sci-fi-style sound effects throughout its varied influences, expanding the sound even further.

A1 Sphynx 5:43
A2 Le Vide Est Ton Nouveau Prénom 4:06
A3 Où Va Le Monde 5:35
A4 Septembre 3:51
B1 Tatiana 2:43
B2 Conversations Nocturnes 0:21
B3 SSD 4:30
B4 Exorciseur 2:37
B5 Elle Ne T'Aime Pas 3:57
B6 Always In The Sun 4:06
C1 Mycose 3:51
C2 Tueur De Fleurs 3:41
C3 Al Warda 5:01
C4 Psyzook 3:22
D1 Le Chemin 4:36
D2 Vagues 13:01