Skip to content
Regular price $31.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

In stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Lloyd McNeil - Soul Jazz Presents: Elegia LP


Soul Jazz Records

Soul Jazz Records are releasing flautist Lloyd McNeills album Elegia (1980). Originally released on the artists own private press Baobab label in New York, the album is a serious collectors piece, a heavyweight and fascinating fusion of deep spiritual jazz with Brazilian rhythms and melodies. The album has been out of print for nearly 40 years.This groundbreaking album is the culmination of Lloyd McNeills many years involved with Brazilian musicians and features the great percussionist Nana Vasconcelos alongside fellow Brazilians Portinho and Dom Salvador, and US jazz musicians including bassist Cecil McBee.In a 50-year musical career, McNeill has worked with many artists including Nina Simone, Eric Dolphy, Mulatu Asatke and Sabu Martinez. McNeill grew up during the era of the Civil Rights Movement in the 1960s and his life and work is a reflection of those ideals. All of his music was only ever released on his own private-press record label, echoing the Civil Rights and African-American themes of the era black economic empowerment and self-sufficiency and there is a beautiful spirituality in all his music.In the late 1960s McNeill became a teacher of both jazz and painting at the New Thing Art and Architecture Center in Washington and in 1969 was the first African-American professor hired to teach African-American Music History, at Rutgers University.This is the fifth Lloyd McNeill album that Soul Jazz Records have released and follows on from the recent release of Treasures (1976) and the earlier albums Asha (1969), Tanner Suite (1969) and Washington Suite (1970), all of which are being re-pressed to coincide with this new release.This album is fully re-mastered from original source and is re-released for the first time ever on Soul Jazz Records in a very limited edition of 1000 vinyl (+ download code).

1 Samba For The Animals
2 Behind The Wind (Flute Solo)
3 Asha II
4 Elegiac Suite for Elizabeth a) Time b) The Mighty River c) The Wind
5 Striped Pants (With Cadenza)
6 Memory Cycle