Skip to content
Regular price $45.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Low stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Maxwell - Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite 2LP


Sony Legacy Records

This package comes with an 8-page booklet that includes rare images from the original album and single photo shoots. The booklet also includes a very special pair of revelatory new essays: 1) an appreciation of Maxwell and his music by noted R&B scholar, music/culture critic, journalist and filmmaker Nelson George; and 2) a behind-the-scenes reminiscence on the making of Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite penned by music industry veteran Mitchell Cohen, who, as Senior Vice President of A&R at Columbia Records, signed Maxwell to the label and helped shepherd the music from raw concept to full realization. Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite was released on April 2, 1996, by Columbia Records. Maxwell recorded the album between 1994 and 1995 at Electric Lady Studios, RPM, Sorcerer, and Chung King Studios in New York City, and CRC Studios in Chicago. The record's music features a mellow, groove-based sound with elements of funk, jazz, smooth soul, and quiet storm. A concept album, Maxwell's Urban Hang Suite was composed as a song cycle that focuses on an adult romance, based in part on Maxwell's personal experiences.

A1 The Urban Theme 2:24
A2 Welcome 5:17
A3 Sumthin' Sumthin'
Written-By – L. Ware*
B1 Ascension (Don't Ever Wonder)
Written-By – I. Shur*
B2 Dancewitme 6:14
B3 ...Til The Cops Come Knockin' 6:56
C1 Whenever Wherever Whatever 3:45
C2 Lonely's The Only Company (I & II) 6:21
C3 Reunion 4:53
D1 Suitelady (The Proposal Jam) 4:48
D2 The Suite Theme
Arranged By – Federico Pena*