Skip to content
Regular price $18.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Low stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Moving Pictures - Fake Books LP


K Records

Fake Books is a co-release presented by K and Perennial

Tremolo Babylon Reverb soaked 4th generation calamity days Now that every day is truly like Sunday Feedback as language Flip your Bass Drum on it's head "Fail at anything long enough and you're a legend" Worshiping any sound you can lie in 8 songs 45 RPM ADDITIONAL INFORMATION Fake Books finds The Moving Pictures four years after their debut album with three less members and eight new songs. The long-anticipated LP from a group not known for a continuity of sound might surprise new listeners with it's congruity and coherence in their most Traditional rock n roll output yet. Traditional in the sense of an exacting guitar tone as the ultimate guide. Traditional in that this iteration of M Pix consists only of one person, in this case a poet and his guitar. Through this lens we watch a reel of familiar concepts- flowers, books, loneliness- repeat themselves reverberated through the artist's singular voice. And while sparse, the songs are lush and expansive, every poem in strict adherence to a sonic landscape where the form is as important as the content and each belabored guitar tone feels like just another frame of the story. The story is not a happy one- it's a raw and solitary affair punctuated with steel guitar, synths and a 606. Such upbeats are necessitated when such a crushing narrative is laid bare in between tremolo caverns. There are no easy answers on this landscape, but instead when lent to repeated listens the sadness slowly morphs into pop music and the songs linger for long after the record is done. Recorded in a mix of self produced home sessions and continued teamwork of the seminal Olympia Engineer Capt. Tripps Ballsington (Milk Music, Ribbon Stage, Gun Outfit, CC Dust). Recorded by Hayes Waring and Capt. Tripps Ballsington Mixed by Capt. Tripps Ballsington Mastered by John Golden

1 Loved One
2 Flowers on the Wall
3 Nothing Fades (Like Love)
4 Raton
5 Holiday Ennui
6 Obliteration Room
7 Crush Box
8 No Name
9 Late Dahlias