Skip to content
Regular price $34.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

In stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Sunset Rubdown - Random Spirit Lover 2LP


Jagjaguwar Records

The woven lyrics and singular songwriting style heard in Sunset Rubdown invoke a mythological world, where magical narratives and tiny metaphors give shape to ordinary objects in the room; sometimes beautiful, sometimes beastly. The moniker was first born to bare the solo bedroom recordings of Spencer Krug, but has since evolved into a full-fledged band. Now enter Sunset Rubdown's third full-length record, "Random Spirit Lover", featuring twelve songs that bleed in and out of each other, mixing portents with theatrics, confusions with conversions. The dark glamour of the music beneath the half-baked revelations in rhyme creates a tone of high drama, blown-out and overt, but the stage is wild and the roles aren't clear, so the sincerity of the work and the spontaneity of the recordings can't help but shine through the formality of structure.

1 The Mending of the Gown
2 Magic Vs. Midas
3 Up on Your Leopard, Upon the End of Your Feral Days
4 The Courtesan Has Sung
5 Winged/Wicked Things
6 Colt Stands Up, Grows Horns
7 Stallion
8 For the Pier (And Dead Shimmering)
9 The Taming of the Hands That Came Back to Life
10 Setting Vs. Rising
11 Trumpet, Trumpet, Toot! Toot!
12 Child-Heart Losers