Skip to content
Regular price $34.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Low stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Vic Chesnutt - Silver Lake 2LP


2017 reissue.

New West Records

“Chesnutt’s stories always strike an honest and recognizable emotional chord, no matter how oddball the situations that surround them.” – All Music
“Vic Chesnutt might never be famous, but his songs touch on inner truths that lurk around us. They strike something deep inside their listeners’ beings.” – Pop Matters
At the time, you could count on two things with Vic Chesnutt: he would approach any topic from the delicate to the mundane and he would take an unexpected angle. With an incisive eye and razor wit, he would always cut straight to the heart of the matter. He did so to great effect on Silver Lake, giving equal weight to the tender affirmation of “In My Way, Yes” and the scathing self-critique of “Styrofoam,” and applying his delightfully odd spin to the standard love story on both “Band Camp” (a funny, nostalgic tale of romance in the high school horn section) and the Brian Wilson homage “Fa-La-La” (a saga of unanswered longing that’s set in a hospital). Chesnutt’s idiosyncratic quaver and nylon-string strum are abetted throughout by generous rock and soul arrangements, all of which were pristinely recorded by Daniel Lanois protege Mark Howard (who also produced Lucinda Williams’s World Without Tears).

LP 1
1. I’m Through
2. Stay Inside
3. Band Camp
4. Girls Say
5. 2nd Floor
6. Styrofoam
7. Zippy Morocco
8. Sultan, So Mighty
LP 2
1. Wren’s Nest
2. Fa-La-La
3. In my Way, Yes
4. Stay Inside
5. Girls Say
6. Band Camp
7. Aunt Avis