Skip to content
Regular price $29.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

In stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Wayne County & the Electric Chairs - Storm The Gates Of Heaven LP


Spittle Records

Spittle Records present a reissue of Wayne County & the Electric Chairs' Storm The Gates Of Heaven, originally released in 1978. Prior to his release this record was simply "labeled" as punk-rock but this one comes from the New York Dolls side of glam punk. Storm The Gates Of Heaven reveals unusual aspects of County's work: serious, reflective and profound. The monologue introducing the title track is the only part that may be considered offensive. The sound is a blend of bass, lead and rhythm guitar, drums and percussion by the versatile Electric Chairs. Embellished by Hammond organ, the title track rages against and laments the suffering caused by religious wars. "Cry Of Angels" is an eloquent, even anthemic defense of Enlightenment values on which the guitar textures and the hook around the chorus superbly complement one another. An artful blend of County's characteristic outrage and the pure pop genius that lay behind the garish accoutrements, Storm The Gates Of Heaven jams its eight tracks between two undisguised classics, the anthemic title track and a so-optimistic reading of "Tomorrow Is Another Day", not to mention a stunning cover-version of the Electric Prune's "I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night".

01. Storm The Gates Of Heaven
02. Cry Of Angels
03. Speed Demon
04. Mr. Normal
05. Man Enough To Be A Woman
06. Trying To Get On The Radio
07. I Had Too Much To Dream Last Night
08. Tomorrow Is Another Day