Skip to content
Regular price $25.99

Shipping calculated at checkout

Out of stock

Please note:

ALL NEW: While we do our best to ensure that our images are up to date, if you are looking for a specific cover or specific color vinyl, please send us an email to verify before purchasing.

All USED: Pictures of the actual item are featured. What you see if what you get on those.

Nina Simone - Wild Is The Wind LP


Recent reissue.

Verve Records

Vinyl LP pressing. Nina Simone's sixth album for Philips Records was Wild Is the Wind, released in 1966. The album was compiled from several recordings that were left over from sessions for previous Philips albums. The song "Four Women" was released as a single, and gained attention when banned by the New York jazz focused radio station WLIB due to concern over the lyrics. "Wild Is The Wind" was covered by David Bowie on his 1976 studio recording Station to Station. Nina Simone was an American singer, songwriter, pianist, arranger, and civil rights activist who worked in a broad range of musical styles including classical, jazz, blues, folk, R&B, gospel, and pop. Simone's musical style fused gospel and pop with classical music, in particular Johann Sebastian Bach, and accompanied expressive, jazz-like singing in her contralto voice.

- Side 1 -
1 I Love Your Lovin' Ways
2 Four Women
3 What More Can I Say?
4 Lilac Wine
5 That's All I Ask
6 Break Down and Let It All Out
- Side 2 -
1 Why Keep on Breaking My Heart
2 Wild Is the Wind
3 Black Is the Color of My True Love's Hair
4 If I Should Lose You
5 Either Way I Lose